Support, Educate & Advocate.  It isn't just our tag line, it is our mission.

MHA is dedicated to support families experiencing mental health issues, educate our community about mental health concerns, and advocate for mental health awareness.

Our Story began in 1956.

The Mental Health Association in Morgan County was formally organized in Decatur on February 20, 1956 culminating the efforts of a small group of citizens to provide support for local mental health programs.  W.T. Dye presided at the initial meeting.  Probate Judge T.C. Almon was elected president; Miss Frances Nungester, vice president; and Mr. Dye, secretary-treasurer.

Over the last 50+ years the Mental Health Association has developed many programs and services related to the mission of promoting mental health, preventing mental illness, and advocating for the improved care and treatment of the mentally ill.  Our history includes many different grants and fundraisers that support our partnerships with other agencies to provide the education and support of mental health issues necessary to improve the quality of lives within our community.

Alone we can do so little; but together we can do so much.

--Helen Keller

Meet Our Team

We all have our own stories on why we work at MHA and what brought us here. The common thread is a servant heart and a passion for supporting, educating and advocating for better mental health.

Summer time is about family fun, but vacations can be exhausting and stressful.  So we asked, "How do you relax on vacation?"

IMG_6628 2

Susan Claborn

Executive Director

"The beach is MY place. I set aside one evening for having pizza on the sand at sunset.  Those are some of my favorite moments."

Summer Terry


Picture coming soon.  So happy to have added Summer to our team

Barbara Maze

Administrative Assistant

Picture coming soon.  So happy to have added Barbara to our team

Alison Prevatt

Prevention Educator

Picture coming soon.  So happy to have added Alison to our team


Shannon Williams

Rape Response Advocacy Program Director

"My husband and I tend to be active on vacation: tours, sight-seeing, restaurants, and galleries. We are always on the go."


Kim Gann

Rape Response Prevention Educator

"My favorite vacay is always a getaway to the beach! No social media and unplugged. Listening to my fave music, soft rock tunes from the 70s! Just soaking in all of God's wonderful creations"


Angie Speegle

Alzheimer's Program Director

"I love experiencing different Bed & Breakfasts, the wonderful breakfasts, the hospitality and personalities of the various hosts we have met as well as the charm and history of the homes."


Jaimie Naylor

Bookkeeper Assistant

"I like to drink coffee and read while enjoying the sunsets."

MHA Board of Directors


Lorrianne Curtis-Sparkman

Vice President

Jennifer Wood


Cindy Bracken


Miriam Stover

Shannon Anderson

Becky Bearden

Johnny Berry

Linda Broadhead

Anita Clarke

Luke Etheredge

Demond Garth

Brenda Greene

Ryan Hawkins

Kerrie Hoffner

Parker Moore

Angie Morris

Betty Ogun

Miracle Faith Osborne

Andrea Owensby

Jill Palmby

Kellie Tanner

Anita Walden

Non-voting member: Doug Shoemaker